(S) Single Serving Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Mug

I saw a recipe for a single serving chocolate chip cookie (non THM) on Facebook and I kept wondering if I could convert it. I finally tried it tonight and it was SOOOO good! I just had to share it because I know it will make a lot of people very happy. By the way, this picture is from the original recipe. I couldn’t take a pic of mine because I ate it too fast!


-1 Tbsp of melted butter or coconut oil
-1 scant Tbsp of Truvia
-1 scant Tbsp of Just Like Brown Sugar
- A splash of vanilla
- Pinch of salt
- 1 egg yolk
- 1/4 cup almond flour
- 2 Tbsp plan approved chocolate chips (I used the sugar-free Hershey’s but they are not for purists. You could use chopped up plan-approved chocolate bars or whatever you like)

Stir it all together in a cup, bowl or ramekin.
Microwave 45 seconds! Boom, a delicious, super easy cookie fix!

Thank you Kirsten Kees for posting this on the THM facebook group.

20 thoughts on “(S) Single Serving Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Mug

  1. I’m dying to try this because I LOOOVEEE cookies (which normally results in a cheat). However, I can’t find Just Like Brown Sugar anywhere!! Where do you get yours??

  2. I make this ALL the time. I have found that if you mix the butter and flour together first really well it comes out better. Butter doesn’t have to be melted, just soft. Also, I only use 1 T of sweetener and it’s plenty sweet. I use dark choc chips, but I only put like 5 or 6 in. :) And I found the perfect cooking time- 52 seconds (did I mention I make this a lot? lol) Although different microwaves are different.
    It is amazing!

  3. I baked this in 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. i don’t cook in the microwave anymore. This makes a good treat. i used 85% chocolate, 2 squares chopped up.

    • I actually just made this and mine didn’t turn out exactly right. I feel like I need to tweak the ingredients a bit to make it better. Did you use butter or coconut oil? Did you use almond meal or almond flour? I used almond meal from Trader Joe’s and I think a smooth almond flour would work much better.

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Bowl | The Journey of 3 Spoons

  5. I made this using a whole egg instead of an egg yolk because I misread… and it turned out delicious but did not look anything like the picture!
    Nonetheless, I’m glad to have this recipe. Thanks for posting!

  6. Trim Healthy Me, I saw where you said you felt you needed to tweak this recipe a bit. Have you had a chance to do that? I just made mine and it was a bit grainy, darker in color, and oily. I didn’t have any Just like Brown Sugar so I did what Janetta Smith said and used 2Tbsp of Truvia with a splash of maple flavoring. Everything else was like the recipe called for. I used almond flour that I bought from the store and it’s my first recipe that I’ve tried using almond flour, so it could be I’m just not used to the difference in texture of the almond flour. – Thanks!

  7. I make this a lot!, and think Dee is spot on. Although, I’ve found coconut oil works better, at least for me, and it seems to come out with a better texture if it’s not completely melted. Same goes for butter, if you do use it! Just a heaping 1 T Truvia is perfect!

  8. I just made several of these with minor changes along the way and the final result was YUMMY!!! The first time I made this it didn’t cook up at all. I compared it to the THM Chocolate Muffin in a Mug recipe and noticed this version didn’t have baking powder or the whole egg. The second time I added 1/2 tsp baking powder and the whole egg. I also used 2 tbls of unground xylitol in both version 1 and 2. VERY sweet. My last attempt I only used 1 tbls unground xylitol and this was probably about right. My teenage son suggested pouring milk over the top to soak into the spongy cake so we will try that next time. Oh, and the chocolate chunks I used basically melted and sank to the bottom of dish, so it was more of a lava cake but delicious with a spoon. Thanks for the recipe!

  9. I used the Bob’s Red Mill almond flour and butter and this turned out way too dense. Are you sure it doesn’t need some kind of leaven like baking powder? Mine was really dense. And 2 Tbs. of chocolate chips is too many and 1 Tbs. of Truvia was plenty of sweet. I can’t imagine what it would have been like with the extra 1 Tbs. of Just Like Brown Sugar! I guess when I’m thinking about a cookie, I like to think of something crispy with a little bit of chewy. This was like a lump of very sweet goo.

  10. I added a 1/2 tsp of baking powder to my second round – that made all the difference! My first cookie was just an oily mess.

Leave a Reply

